What I Read in August 2016

Rick and Morty, Vol. 1

Where and why: I found it at the library holy shit -erp- Morty it was just sitting on the shelf.

Should you read it: If you’re a fan of Rick and Morty and are experiencing soul crushing dread when you think about how long you have to wait until a new episode, please read this book.

The Woman in Cabin 10

Where and why: The world is abuzz about the latest lady drama/thriller. I loved Ruth Ware’s first book about a bachelorette party gone awry and thought this would be a good bet. It was our book club book for August.

Should you read it: Yes you should! It’s a quick and engrossing mystery. However, I found the character development lacking a little bit, and couldn’t really develop a personal attachment to anyone in particular. I also felt that there wasn’t any drama, or thrill, it was just mystery. I hardly cared enough to know what happened but the writing compelled me to go on anyways.

Quote: “Maybe that was closer to the truth–we weren’t captor and captive, but two animals in different compartments of the same cage. Hers was just slightly larger.”

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)

Where and why: I put it on hold and forgot it was on hold because everyone and their mother and their grandmother and their bus driver is reading this god forsaken book.

Should you read it: It earns the right to be called a proper romance novel. Sweet and sad all at once, I cried. You should read it if you like romance novels. Or, perhaps, to just try and understand the hype.

Quote: “You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Rick and Morty, Volume 2

Where and why: I read volume one and had an insatiable desire for more.

Should you read it: Again, yes. I felt this volume connected even more to the series. Some stories felt like continuations of episodes I’d watched many times before.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Where and why: I picked this up at Powells for half price after scrapping some old books. The woman in line asked me why I was buying it and I said because I liked Harry Potter. I don’t know what she was expecting.

Should you read it: It’s a love letter to Harry Potter fans. It’s sweet and exciting and adds something special to the story. I like the unexpected twists. It’s just a good feeling to see the world develop just a bit more in your head.

Quote: “Those we love never truly leave us, Harry. There are things that death cannot touch.”

Leave a Reply

